Google Real-Time location. What Is It? And How To Use It?

Share on your favorite platform
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

For many users, google maps app is a must-have in their every day use, but these days, google maps is more rich-featured than ever with its real-time location sharing feature

So what is real-time location sharing?

Google real-time location sharing is a feature that allows the user to share her/his real-time location with family and friends. It also allow users to share their Estimated Arrival Time or E.A.T

This service can hugely save a lot of effort and time for users. let us examine a scenario when you are in a traffic Jame and your friends are waiting for you in an appointment. you may get several calls like “Where are you now?!”, or “How much it will take you to arrive?”. Using google’s location sharing and E.A.T will eliminate the need for all these calls. Location and E.A.T is available in iphone and ipad, android devices, and desktop computers.

Using location sharing and E.A.T

I will describe how to use this feature for the iphone, and for android and desktop, one can go to it here.

If your contacts have google account:

  1. If you haven’t already, add their Gmail address to your Google Contacts.
  2. On your iPhone or iPad, open the Google Maps app  and sign in. Learn how to sign in.
  3. Tap the Menu   Location sharing  Add People .
  4. Choose how long you want to share your location.
  5. Tap Select People.
  6. If you’re asked about your contacts, give Google Maps access.
  7. Choose a person.
  8. Tap Share. The person you chose will see that you shared your location with them.

Note: The first time you share your location, you’ll be asked to turn on Location History. Learn about Location History.

If your contacts do not have google account:

To send your location to someone who doesn’t have a Google Account, share your location with a link.

  1. On your iPhone or iPad, open the Google Maps app  and sign in. Learn how to sign in.
  2. Tap the Menu   Location sharing  Add People .
  3. Tap Message to send via iMessage, or More   select a different app. People with this link will see your real-time location for as long as you choose, up to 72 hours.

Sharing your E.A.T

After you start navigating by car, foot, or bicycle, you can share your destination, estimated arrival time, and where you are on the route. The person you share this information with can see your location until you arrive.

  1. On your iPhone or iPad, open the Google Maps app .
  2. Set a driving destination. Learn how to navigate to a place.
  3. Once you have your directions, tap More   Share trip progress.
  4. Choose a person from the list.
  5. You’ll stop sharing your location when you reach your destination or stop navigating.
  • To stop sharing before you arrive, tap More   Stop sharing.

Stop Sharing

  1. On your iPhone or iPad, open the Google Maps app .
  2. Tap the Menu   Location sharing.
  3. Turn off the switch next to the person with whom you want to stop sharing.


Share on your favorite platform
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Leave a Reply